CHELTENHAM DAY ONE. A WILLIE MULLINS FEAST.

Historically, this site does very well at Cheltenham and here’s hoping that we can get the job done again this time round. It is a viciously difficult meeting to make money at so please only bet what you can afford to lose.

1 30  Supreme Novices Hurdle : I have already advised a four points win on MIN at 13/8 and I am as confident about his chance as one can be about an animal running at this big meeting. MIN has drifted to a current 9/4 with Paddy Power.

2 10 Arkle Chase : There is little or no point opposing the hot odds on shot and brilliant DOUVAN. He should win easily if having a clear round. I am suggesting a bet on VANITEAUX in the betting without the favourite market for which he is 15/8 with Paddy Power. One point at that price.

2 50 Ultima Handicap Chase : I really like the chances of KRUZHLININ who is Grand National bound after this. He is on a career high mark but could easily be up to defying it and as he goes well fresh is worth a punt. One point win at 10/1 with PP.

3 30 Champion Hurdle : I have already advised a one point win on NICHOLS CANYON at  12/1 so lets hope he does it but I have another one for a bet also. This race has changed a lot with Annie Power now favourite and she has a wonderful chance and could easily win it. However, she is no value but one that is comes in the shape of her stable companion and outsider SEMPRE MEDICI. I really rate this fellow as he has a blinding turn of foot and must come into the reckoning here, especially as an each way prospect. I will be brave though and advise a one point win at 22/1 with PP but I believe he is bigger elsewhere so shop around.

4 10 OLBG Mares Hurdle : I feel that Willie Mullins can strike again with the brilliant VROUM VROUM MAG. She is miles clear of her opposition on my ratings but as she is too short at even money I will include her in a 2 points win treble to go with MIN 9/4, DOUVAN 4/11 and VROUM VROUM MAG at even money. That will pay out at 7.86 to 1 if it comes off with PP.

4 50 National Hunt Chase : Another Willie Mullin’s candidate catches my eye here. PONT ALEXANDRE has been a little below par recently but is a proper horse on his day and if eliminating a tendency to jump to his right he will take the beating. I think he will see out the extended trip no problem. One point win at 1o/1 with PP.

5 30 Close Brothers Handicap Chase. I have been waiting for these drying conditions on an undulating track like this for BRIDGETS PET for some time and in a wickedly competitive affair where there is only a weight spread of only four pounds from top to bottom I rate his chance as excellent. The price is a juicy 25/1 with PP. I must advise one point each way at those odds.

Be lucky………….

 

Leave a Reply

