EXCLUSIVE IRISH GOLD CUP AND OTHER SECTIONAL TIMES.

There has been much speculation as to what would have happened if Valseur Lido had not unshipped Ruby Walsh at the last in the Irish Gold Cup last Saturday. Most observers, bar Matt Chapman, believe Carlingford Lough was coming with a wet sail and would have prevailed in any event. I am publishing my sectional times and let’s see can we make sense of it all as the clock never ever lies and the answer is within. I will compare the three chases on the day, one of which was the novice event over a shorter distance but using adjustments I can compare and come up with my final figures. I must keep a few of my trade secrets but basically everything is here and I will give my findings later on in a follow up blog

OPENING SECTION.         MIDDLE SECTION.  THIRD LAST TO HOME.

Outlander.               77.36 sec.              182.08                         71.36        TOTAL : 330.8

Carlingford Lough. 122.22 sec.            190.84                         76.56        TOTAL 389.52

You Must Know Me: 125.76.                  197.32                         77.76        TOTAL 400.84

I will break it down further to show what speed they were doing over the last two fences to home. The third last is in graph above.

Second last to finish.

Outlander  54.04,  Carlingford Lough 57.44, You Must Know Me 58.72

Last Fence to finish.

Outlander 22.48,  Carlingford Lough 22.48, You Must Know Me 23.8

Digest those and back later.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

