FINAL DAY REVIEW. SIMPLY THRILLED .

I will be writing in the near future regarding the number of injuries and fatalities of the horses and indeed the bad injuries to the jockeys and unfortunately I voiced my concerns beforehand that this might occur. The ground in my book was not safe but that is just my personal opinion.

1 30. Hard to believe but yet another faller for us, Adriana Des Mottes ,this time bought down and I have a feeling that future events will prove we might have been unlucky. This was a terrible Triumph Hurdle and after our demise I felt Calipto would have absolutely hosed up but for his particular misfortune. He was simply cantering when his jockey’s stirrup snapped. His chance went then. Well done though to Tiger Roll.

2 05. Great win for the site here with Lac Fontana. His in running price must have been huge as he hated the fast ground and won only through stamina and guts and of course a little class. Arctic Fire ran huge for a novice against seasoned handicappers and will be winning plenty of big races. He would look an ideal type for the Galway Hurdle if they went down that path.

2 40. I am just sick and tired of all our fallers, this can’t be right. Briar Hill suffered a brutal fall but I would have to ask David Casey what was he doing switching coming into the hurdle and blinded the favourite at short notice and gave him very little chance ? I also think the switch put Briar Hill on his wrong lead. The winner Very Wood had been well beaten by Briar Hill previously this year but well done again to Gigginstown.

3 20. I am absolutely thrilled with this result in the Gold Cup. I must thank Nick Mordin who kept telling me all year that this horse would win it. I know you must be tired of hearing it but Mordin is the greatest genius to comment on horse racing ,period, and I am myself extremely fortunate to count him as one of my friends. Lord Windermere was given a peach of a ride by the mercurial Davy Russell and delivered his mount perfectly. Lyreen Legend would have been closer but for a monumental blunder at the last. The Giant Bolster ran another corker and has now been 2nd ,3rd and fourth in three tries in this race. On His Own confounded me with his outstanding run after hanging right handed throughout and must be a hot favourite for the big Punchestown race.

4 00. Well done to Northern Ireland connections and Tammy’s Hill. Oscar Delta never went a yard.

4 40. Don Poli is on his way up the ladder at a rate of knots and this was a very big performance. Could be anything yet.

5 15. Ned Buntline nearly capped a huge day for me when just denied by a rampant Gigginstown and Russell. What a day for them and the Irish.

Our bet on John Joe O’Neill was landed at 8/1 so that did crown the day and the week.

I am still doing the tot but it looks like Fourmileracing made a profit of 37 points on the day and 40.5 points on the overall festival. I think this is a fabulous return on the week and hope you all enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

