GERMAN DERBY AND THE AMBULANCE DRIVER!!

The German [ Deutsches ] Derby is run today at Hamburg at 3 30. I am not joking you when I say I have been looking forward to this race for the past six months. The press here have been writing more words about Ruler Of The World and Trading Leather etc for months now in previews and reviews of the domestic Derby’s and they have been marked absent in the build up to this race. Is it that they do not know or understand German form ? Racing is an International sport now where plane hopping is the norm for all the ”big” horses so therefore the journalists have a duty to their readers and listeners to have their subject researched properly. I am not making myself out to be this or that regarding my interest in International racing but I had to cover all the meetings in the UK and Ireland as well yesterday [ thank God for a 12 pts profit and approx 2 pts extra on the GAA game ] but still find time to do an in depth look at today’s great event. I have to laugh when I hear people talk about one publication in particular regarding their ratings etc because they really cannot be taken that seriously as they do not do speed figures. How on earth can they judge the merits of a horse ? I urge you all to follow NICK MORDIN and his columns in the IRISH FIELD and RACING POST WEEKENDER. He understands the true meaning of International racing and backs his statements up with hard facts and brilliantly concise speed figures and sectional times. The guy is a genius and I count myself very lucky to be able to converse with him.

Please scroll back on this site where you will find an in depth analysis of today’s Derby which I published earlier this week.

I tipped up IVANHOWE then and I am even more confident today. He is 9/4 with William Hill and Sky Bet this morning but I advised our 3 pts win at 2/1. I am going to add a half point each way on BERMUDA REEF at 50/1 with ToteSport, BetFred, Sky Bet and BetVictor who are biggest on him. LUCKY SPEED will run well also but I will be devastated if IVANHOWE doesn’t live up to my hype about him.

We had a remarkable story at Bellewstown on Friday night with Danny Mullins involved in the ‘ambulancegate affair”. I spoke with his father ,Tony, about the incident and to be honest I see the humorous side of it. The part of it that is not funny though is how the incident started. Danny’s mount fell and broke a leg in the previous race and with all the commotion going on and time slipping away the jockey became very anxious because he knew he had to weigh out a full fifteen minutes before the next race, that is the rule. The fall took place nearly a mile out the track and he had a window of only 3 or 4 minutes to get back to weighroom so despite repeated failed requests for a lift back Danny seized the moment , jumped into the ambulance and drove up to the weighroom, duly parked the vehicle and weighed out for the next race. Post race he was met by the stewards who promptly gave him a 14 day ban which means Danny is out for Galway. What rule did the jockey break ? I do not see in the rulebook where he did commit a breach. Yes he should not have done what he did but God almighty I would give him a medal for ingenuity . The ambulance was still on track if any racegoer became ill or any staff got injured so what is the problem ? The irony is that the stewards would have fined and suspended him if he failed to weigh out in time for the next race so maybe you can work that one out !!!!!!!!!!!!!.

Tony and Danny team up today at the same Bellewstown track and I am napping them to win the 2 55 with the Barry Connell owned SAM DA VINCI. This horse is a favourite of mine and he should relish the step up to three miles. He is slowly coming to himself and will be winning this hopefully before going on to better things. His recent form has been franked no end and a big 3 pts win and nap at 7/2 with Paddy Power. I hope the real ambulance driver will have a few ponds on Danny today…..

Leave a Reply

