UPDATES. RACING AND HURLING.

Great finish to the week at Ascot which left us with just 3/4 of a point loss so we are plus 90 points at the moment. We hit the crossbar many times and I hope you agree the site was a little unlicky not to score a big profit.

I am under a lot of pressure these days and I am disappoionted I do not get to write my GAA columns . I have had a very decent run with big wins on LIMERICK and CORK. I was very close to landing a monster bet on DUBLIN also.

Waterford had a very pleasing win in Tullamore last Saturday evening . It was nice to have a couple of pints beforehand in the company of some of the modern day greats of Waterford hurling. There were some very good performances all round and nice to see Richie Foley back from injury. I wish Jamie Barron a speedy recovery from what must have been an injury early on as he had started very brightly setting up two invaluable points in the first 20 minutes when we needed them most.

There is always a lot of shite spoken after games and what happened to Liam Lawlor for the misplaced hand pass is something that could befall anybody. He has done an excellent job for us since he took his chance in 2010.

Brian O Sullivan is a class hurler and I was delighted to see him do well and prove the critics wrong as indeed his clubmates Stephen O Keefe and Pauric Mahoney. The latter is a terrific reader of the game and his ability to see a pass and bring others into the game is a skill in itself. That save from SOKKY was worth the journey to Offaly alone.

Noelly Connors and Brick came flying into it after the first half and you would expect nothing else from these two stalwarts. It feels like Noelly has been around as long as Tony and yet he is barely old enough to go to the counter !!

I could be wrong [ memory failing] but I think that was the first championship start for the dependable Shane Fives. I have always rated him and he played his part and will into the future. Delighted for him.

All in all a good win at a tough venue and very well done to all the players.

I am looking forward to the Munster Final. I tipped Limerick at the start [ I didn’t want to put pressure on Waterford] and I think they should have enough for a resurgent Cork. I thought John Allen’s team were value for their win against an overhyped Tipperary. The bench was the key for them. Downes, Dowling and Moran would grace most teams and to be able to spring them from the sideline must be some feeling for Allen.

I had a large chunk on Cork at the weekend. Their win did not surprise me at all. They were well coached, fit, strong and ready. They were also allowed to play with freedom and without fear by their clever manager. Players will always work that little bit harder when feel good about what they are doing. It is not rocket science.

Clare have got the best of the draw now so Davy should be happy about that and I am sure he will have his men ready for the challenges ahead.

I expect Dublin to put it up to Kilkenny again and Tipperary will not be sleeping easily no matter what the outcome.

What do my tip for the All Ireland at the start of the year think of it all I wonder ?? I suspect they are looking at the hurrying and scurrying going on and thinking, ”hhhmmmmmmmmmm” I would imagine their answer is ” It’s all going to plan.. That team is GALWAY.

I am off to Cork this evening to watch our impressive Waterford minor team play the rebels. We have a shocking record there at this level. However, I do think this is potentially the best bus load we have ever brought down there. A full forward line of Curran, Bennett and Gleeson will take some stopping. That is as good a line as you will ever see at this level, in my opinion. I note Conor Gleeson is 20/1 to score the first goal, he is playing in the corner, not as named in midfield.

Regards,

F M W.

Leave a Reply

