BRILLIANT CARD AT SANDOWN.

I am really looking forward to the top class action at the Esher track today. Sandown Park is an excellent venue and I used to love going there. I thoroughly recommend a visit there.

1 40.

I have written up SECRET MISSILE on more than one occasion and I am going to keep backing this horse until his handicap mark hits 95. Hopefully that will not be too long in coming and that I won’t go broke in the meantime while waiting for him to acheive it, he is currently off a mouth watering 79. I can assure you this underplays his ability and by some margin. The problem today is the bloody draw. He is in the ” coffin box” stall 14 of 14. I will have to keep stakes to an absolute minimum because of this. Sky Bet are going 16/1 still. A half point win at that.

2 10.

I had to check the market a few times for this years renewal of the first proper 3 year old handicap of the season, THe Esher Cup, to make sure I was not seeing double as the price on HAAFAGUINEA is 5/1, and that is with every single bookmaker. This is terrific value. He towers above the opposition on form and is miles clear on my ratings. He is a likeable strong chesnut colt trained by the shrewd Clive Cox. He was caught out wide on the wrong side of the track in a madly competitive handicap last backend at Doncaster and with normal improvement from 2 to 3 he can beat this lot and with a bit to spare. I am napping him and a 2 points win at 5/1 with any layer of your choice.

2 45.

I would imagine the best time to catch TRUMPET MAJOR is when he is fresh , has a small field and good or faster ground . My theory will be tested here as he has all those things in his favour. Hold him up to the last second Richard Hughes [ genius] as he has a blistering turn of foot. I am almost hoping he doesn’t get a clear run until deep inside the final furlong and the go whoooosh ! Confident selection. 2 points win at 5/2 with Paddy and several more.

3 15 .

This is a splendid Derby trial . I rate it the race of the day and that includes Punchestown. Al Waab did us a big favour last year and is a big galloping type . He is vulnerable to a turn of foot though so I reluctantly have to pass him over on this occasion. Smart as the rest of the field is it should come down to a shoot out between Fantastic Moon and EYE OF THE STORM.I am going for the O’Brien colt as he just might have that extra change of gear. I just cannot wait for this race. 1 point win EYE OF THE STORM at 7/2 with William Hill and Bet 365.

More soon……….

Leave a Reply

